Cream of Crab Soup (white)

1 pound crab meat, of course lump is the best but you can put any crab meat in this and it’s good

1/4 t-spoon celery salt

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1 cup boiling water

1 dash of pepper

1 table-spoon dry mustard

1/4 cup minced onions

1 quart milk

1 table-spoon or a sprig of Worcestershire sauce, to taste.

1 cup butter … yes 1 cup

3 table-spoons flour *

*see notes
dissolve bullion in water. Cook onion in butter until tender, blend flour and seasonings, Add milk and bullion gradually; cook until thick stirring constantly. Add crab meat, heat.
place in serving bowl and garnish with parsley and paprika.

*Notes:
*I add non-peeled cubed redskin potatoes cooked in the rough until tender then add the crab meat. This adds flavor and color with the skins on

*also, I like mine ‘thick’ so I save about 1/4 cup of the butter for a rough mixture of added flour and thicken before I add the crab meat.

One Response to “Cream of Crab Soup (white)”

  1. Monita Says:

    Wow, this recipe looks plain old-fashioned good. I’ll have to comment back when I actually make it. Love the new recipe addition to your blog!

Leave a comment